Absolute beginner

Discussion on general flowbench design
Ravoll

Absolute beginner

Post by Ravoll »

Hi everybody,
Not my first post here.My one and only post was a few years back about other possibility's of measuring flow,but I had to put my flow bench project on hold for a while,so it never went anywhere.
Of lately my sons have taken interest,and we've decided to build a simple type flow bench with 2 water manometers, and a high power shop vac. Have tons of questions ,but I'll post em one at a time.

I've been reading a lot on the subject and my first hurdle is trying to understand the operations.When I set my test pressure to 28 inches with the valve closed,it changes when the valve is opened.Should pressure be readjusted back to 28 inches? I'm not sure if 28 inches is supposed to be a constant or if it's only a starting pressure that's is supposed to change with increasing valve lift.

Alan
Tony

Re: Absolute beginner

Post by Tony »

Hi Ravoli, welcome back.

Yes, you keep adjusting the test pressure back to 28 inches for each measurement.
As flow increases, with a greater valve opening, the test pressure will drop, and you need to get it back up to 28 inches for the next flow measurement.
Also known as the infamous "Warpspeed" on some other Forums.
Ravoll

Post by Ravoll »

Thanks,
My next question concerns the water manometers:

Does the inside diameter of the tubing ,or the volume of water, have any effect on the precision?

For some reason I want to think that if I was using an 8mm inside diameter tube,it would be easier to pull the water up one side, as the atmosphere pushes the other side down,than if I were using ,say, a fire hose ,or some gigantic type of tubing.
Reason I ask is I have, lots of tubing of various ID.I would like to keep it as compact as I can.

Alan
Tony

Post by Tony »

Tube diameter has no effect on manometer rise, except very small bore tube tends to trap air bubbles more readily.