Help me build a flow Bench for a formula car!

Discussion on general flowbench design
Philip_Robinson

Help me build a flow Bench for a formula car!

Post by Philip_Robinson »

Hey guys, new member here. I'm a student at Queen's University in Kingston Ontario. As part of the miniature formula design team (http://qfsae.ca/) I've been given the task of building a flow bench so we can figure out the valve lift on various parts. I've done a good bit of reading but I'm still a little fuzzy on some of the concepts, so I was hoping you guys could help me out and make sure my design will work before I waste any of the teams budget.

Mostly because it has a pretty simple design and a comprehensive build document I was going to build a flow bench based off of the plans posted on the Dtec website (http://dtec.net.au/Flowbench%20Design%20Guide.htm). It's a single cabinet with an internal settling chamber and orifice plate with two water manometers. Does anyone see any issues with his design? Also because there is no speed shops with flow benches in my area for office plate calibration, I was going to order a set from the PTS website. The problem is, I don't know what my max CFM range will be, which Bruce (the fine gentleman running PTS) told me I should know before I order plates. The engine we use is a 600cc 4-cylinder Honda superbike engine out of an F4i. It's a fairly small bench so I'll probably be testing at around 15" (maybe the bench could handle 28", not sure that the size makes a difference). How can I figure out what an appropriate range would be? Is it purely based on the size of parts being tested? We don't have a large budget for this so the less plates we need to order the better for us.
Also the Dtec design incorporates multiple orfices side by side that can be covered individually (so any combination can be used at once). Is this necessary? Or would it be sufficient to have a single swappable plate?