It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:21 am



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 BOX DESIGN 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:38 pm
Posts: 75
Please see pictures. I have limited room in the box. I have one 76mm hole at the front and the back of the box.
Is it worth cutting anymore hole at the rear only, or should it suffice.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:39 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:35 pm
Posts: 1650
Location: Pennsylvania
What pressure are you planning on testing at and what maximum CFM

What differential pressure will you be using for your incline scale?

_________________
Bruce

Who . . . me? I stayed at a Holiday in Express . . .


Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:14 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:38 pm
Posts: 75
Note sure.
1)340CFM with 16" orfice and somehow enclosing the orfice in the pipe work.


Also I am bit worried with electric shocks.

I will have three earth/ground wires from the wall socket because there are 3 fans to power.
2)Do I attach all 3 ground wires to the metal box or shall I mount them to each of thevoltage regulators which as per pic are on the rear of the box.
Attachment:
7610163_119996-00_datasheet.pdf


With three Ametek 1199966-00 motors what CFM can be expected with the best orfice platetogie decent data.

I am porting a 1.4 litre engine.
1) 76mm hole on bench going into a maybe 100mm pipe chamber, then back into a 76mm pipe down to the flow element where I want to place the orifice plate then back into a 76mm pipe into the black box of motors.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Sat Apr 15, 2017 5:57 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:36 pm
Posts: 1157
Location: Maryland
First off, "If you do not understand AC Electricity you should not be fooling with it!" the forum is about Flow benches not teaching electrical theory or the electrical trade.

Two please post the data sheet on the voltage regulators you are using, also are you wiring this for Euro three phase? why three regulators?

Motor specs look to be around 75cfm at 44" +/- with three motors and all that pipe you may reach a maximum flow of say 200 CFM @28" on a 16" DP is this enough air for what you are trying to do? or you may need to drop your test pressure.

Do you have a schematic of the bench you are building?

Rick


Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:15 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:38 pm
Posts: 75
Dear Rick,

Yes: I am in UK
I have been told before not to mess with AC Electric. I am making sure I do not touch any live wires. I am using three regulators because they are chinese brand and even though they are rated 4000W, I thought for the price might aswell have one for each motor.

I tried one it without ground just to test one motor and they work pretty good. Can set the speed but will have to use them at full speed as there isn't really an accurate gauge on the controller.
I am using 5 AMP fuse in the plug just to make sure I protect the motors.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4000W-220V-AC ... 2320016355

I just need to know wether to earth the regulator or the box. There are no spec sheets. Maybe I can ask the chinese but I doubt they have one. I have emailed them anyhow.


Do you have a schematic of the bench you are building? I'll do one now. Please wait.

I am just trying to port a small engine head and I want to see the difference before and after porting.
Also want to design a few air box for the engine and see how changing the shape effect the air flow.
Just a little hobby :)


Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:38 pm
Posts: 75
Attachment:
flowbendesign.jpg


As promised please see above. If this is workable then I need to be buying some orifice plates.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:25 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:36 pm
Posts: 1157
Location: Maryland
First i would suggest you change you concept on flow measurement .

First if yo just use an orifice in a pipe yes you will have to invest in some PVC tube and fittings but a 2.1" 63.34mm +/- Orifice at 16" can flow 239 cfm at .62 cd if you were to place this in a 6" 153mm tune and apply the Beta factor, you will have to do the math you will be close to your max flow at 16" dp it is all a trade off as if you reduce DP the orifice goes up and beta factor too. This would allow you to purchase one f the on line cheep digital manometers create a spreadsheet, enter you DP and poof you have flow number. Use two and you have test pressure and DP.

Electricity 4000 watts at 220/240vac will give yo a capacity of 4000/240= 16.67 Amps +/- based on measured line voltage. these motors only draw 5.5 amps max so 3 * 5.5 is 16.5 and you will never be running there as this amp rating is at WFO no load. Use one and put the other two in th closet for spare.

remember if you were to flow the port at 200CFM then you are talking 200cfm at .26 = 52 * 4 per cyl or the potential fi all else works in time for 208HP naturaly aspirated. Don't get ahead of yourself.

Now you need to understand electricity, you need to earth everything that is metal that a human or Dog can come in contact with (dog because i love dogs and i don't want my dog to lick a hot circuit) so if the box is wood it cant conduct it does not need earth ground, it the box is metal it need earth ground.


Hope tis helps.

Rick


Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:46 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:38 pm
Posts: 75
The engine right now is 135BHP,with tuning mods and porting it will be 150-160bhp max.


Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:51 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:38 pm
Posts: 75
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lbw09JWoNmU

Just watched this video on youtube.
I am assuming from this I need one plate to put inside the pipe work. 16" plate @ $30 from flowbenchtech shop.

Also two of these: What ranges do I need to watch out for ?

Attachment:
s-l1600.jpg

Specifications:
Display: LCD Backlight
InH2O Range: ±55.40; Resolution: 0.01
Psi Range: ±2.000; Resolution: 0.001
Mbar Range: ±137.8; Resolution: 0.1
Kpa Range: ±13.79; Resolution: 0.01
InHg Range: ±4.07; Resolution: 0.001
MmHg Range: ±103.4; Resolution: 0.1
Ozin2 Range: ±32; Resolution: 0.01
FtH2O Range: ±4.612; Resolution: 0.001
CmH2O Range: ±140.6; Resolution: 0.1
Kgcm2 Range: ±0.140; Resolution: 0.001
Bar Range: ±0.137; Resolution: 0.001
Accuracy: ±0.3%FSO(25°C)
Repeatability: ±0.2%(Max. +/-0.5%FSO)
Linearity/Hysteresis: ±0.29%FSO
Max. Pressure: 10Psi
Response Time: 0.5s Typical
Low Battery Indicator: Yes
Over Range Indicator: Err. 1
Under Range Indicator: Err. 2


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:22 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:10 am
Posts: 265
Location: Northern NSW, on the wrong side of the Great Divide.
damunk wrote:
Please see pictures. I have limited room in the box. I have one 76mm hole at the front and the back of the box.
Is it worth cutting anymore hole at the rear only, or should it suffice.
Unless some laws of nature (physics) have changed you will need 2 holes. One for air to come in and 1 for it to go out.

damunk wrote:
Also I am bit worried with electric shocks.
Please don't take offence. I took 1 look at the 2nd picture and thought here is an electrocution waiting to happen. To me those 'cages" on the outside are dangerous. Think about this you are testing a head and want to reverse the flow, you turn the box around so you can test exhaust flow, you forget to unplug the box from the mains outlet and inadvertently touch one of those "cages" :shock: . Instant BBQ'd Damunk :oops: .

_________________
Every job is a self portrait of the person who does it.
Autograph your work with excellence.


Tue Apr 18, 2017 12:02 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF