PTS Flowbench Forum
http://www.flowbenchtech.com/forum/

Fluctuating Motor speed
http://www.flowbenchtech.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1349
Page 3 of 3

Author:  Tony [ Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fluctuating Motor speed

Yes indeed.

Power conditioners are available in any country, made to suit the local mains frequency and voltage, whatever that might be.
And there is a pretty wide range of voltages and frequencies around the world.

It will be expensive, and it will only make things slightly better. If you can get one for free, or buy something at an auction for peanuts fair enough.
If you are looking to buy something new, be prepared for a real shock.

Author:  damunk [ Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fluctuating Motor speed

Tony,

The welders need are not recommended to run in the UK residential sockets for long periods.
They can draw around 14amp which can blow the 13amp fuse in the plug.

From the seller of the welder in the UK:
"No this welder will not run on full power from a 13amp supply it would require 16amps. So it will not be able to run from a domestic 13 amp plug supply."

The UK sockets are rated at 13amps.

Powering 3 motors on one socket will be problem.

Author:  Tony [ Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fluctuating Motor speed

Quite obviously you cannot use a standard light duty domestic power outlet.

Here on Australia a standard domestic power point is only rated for ten amps. There are however alternatives rated at 15 and 20 amps for use with things like large airconditioners and domestic electric stoves and ovens. These have the same pin pattern as for ten amps, but much wider pins.

What I am saying is I just cannot believe that England is the only country in the entire world that does not have heavy duty industrial power outlets available for use in shops, engineering workshops, factories, and heavy industry.

If you are actually telling me that there is nothing in all of England that draws more than 13 Amps, than I will just have to believe you because I do not know..

Author:  damunk [ Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fluctuating Motor speed

I am just saying what I have in my home and this is where I intended to use my air flow bench.

Author:  RACEPUMPER [ Sun Sep 24, 2017 11:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fluctuating Motor speed

damunk wrote:
I am just saying what I have in my home and this is where I intended to use my air flow bench.


Looks like its time to change what you have at home

Jim

Author:  stef-1 [ Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fluctuating Motor speed

I would advise you to run two motors per plug if your stuck with normal plug outlets. My bench uses four motors which is enough to pull 28" on most 4 cylinder heads. I run two on each plug well enough. If you want to run a single plug you will need to get an electrician to run a suitable cable from your consumer unit to a properly rated plug/socket.

Page 3 of 3 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/