Digital Manometer / Flow Computer sensor choice.

Orifice Style bench discussions
pecracing

Digital Manometer / Flow Computer sensor choice.

Post by pecracing »

First of all hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, i have recently began a project with my father to build a small flow bench for his engine building buisness, i have offered to help with the sensing and data processing and am planning on using a Raspberry Pi and 15bit ADC to handle both these tasks, the problem I'm having is choosing the correct pressure sensor to hook up, there is so much choice and variation! The flow-bench will be an orifice type with 3 approx 1400w vacuum motors driving the flow. My research so far has lead me to look for something in the 0-5psi differential range to read from the orifice and test piece, does this seem like a good range? does anyone here have experience of similar setups or the correct chip choice hopefully with an approx 0-5v output range?
Darcy R

Re: Digital Manometer / Flow Computer sensor choice.

Post by Darcy R »

Freescale has a pressure sensor selector on their website. It's a good place to start.
Most flow is corrected to 28 inches of water. If you're building a bench that will be able to pull 28 inches, on your test piece, then you only need one pressure sensor with a range higher than that.
28 inches of water being around 1 psi would make your 5 psi sensor way too much range.

For the pressure drop across the orfice, Bruce sells a nice set-up with a 0-16 inch range, that flows most heads with only one orfice plate.
You could use less pressure differential, and a more orfice plates if that suites you better.
1960FL

Post by 1960FL »