Call me crazy, but...

Discussion on general flowbench design
Crice

Call me crazy, but...

Post by Crice »

Hi and thanks for adding me to the forum.
I'd like to do some experimentation on optimizing a (regulation mandated) turbo inlet restrictor https://www.specialstage.com/photopost/ ... rawing.gif The dimensions of the 'choke' of the restrictor are stipulated by regulation and the downstream pressure recovery area is dictated by those regulations and the compressor inducer diameter but the upstream side is free. I'd like to experiment with different 'bell mouth' shapes to see if changing this geometry can either a. net a greater mass flow at 'choke' or b. net the same mass flow with lower downstream depression (i.e. working the turbo slightly less hard/lower turbo rpm/less pre turbine back pressure).
I have tried to do this in CFD (Ansys Fluent) which I have access to in my job but I'm not an analysis expert and can't get it to work properly so, being a mechanical engineer, I thought why not test it for real.
The trouble here is that most commercial flow benches, whilst technically capable of moving the sort of CFM required to choke a 34mm restrictor, will operate at 25 or 28" H2O (below atmospheric) test pressure. This is no where near sufficient to choke the restrictor. In order to move 28lbs/min (I think about 370 CFM at standard pressure/temp) I will need something like 0.5bar absolute test pressure.
Now, this is a big ask for any vacuum source and I'm considering options. This is where I'd like some advice.
Options I can think of are:
1. old turbocharger with turbine housing removed, pulley welded in place of turbine wheel and belt/pulley gearing to BIG electric motor (I'm predicting 3phase, 20-30hp)! - the motor would be a bit more than I want to spend and I don't like the idea of belts and potentially out of balance turbos running at 100k rpm!