Newbie saying Hi.

A place to talk about things that do not fit into any other forum, only members may post to keep out the SPAM
bob

Newbie saying Hi.

Post by bob »

Hi guys a newbie here from across the pond. I am thinking of building a flowbench and was steered onto this site via another forum.Not keen on having another gadget rolling about cluttering the workshop,I was hoping to mount the motors with all the noisy bits on an outside wall and pipe to an existing bench. Not sure of the implications of running the extra few meters of ductwork or whether to go with vac motors or get a single unit.
Meanwhile I will have a nose about on here an scavenge for some inspiration.

Bob
Tony

Re: Newbie saying Hi.

Post by Tony »

Welcome to the Forum Bob.

Its been done before, a separate motor box connected by a duct to the settling chamber by a duct.
To change from suck to blow, just turn the motor box around.

Its going to require two units which will overall, be much larger than building it all into one very neat enclosure.

Be very careful with an inside/outside construction. The air needs to freely recirculate. The pressure generated can easily destroy a building.
Think about it, 28 inches is about 1Psi that is 144 Lbs per square foot. Literally many TONS of force could be generated that can easily burst your ceiling or a wall. If you duct the air directly back into your shop, there will be no noise advantage in placing the motors outside.
Also known as the infamous "Warpspeed" on some other Forums.
bob

Post by bob »

Tony wrote:Welcome to the Forum Bob.
Its going to require two units which will overall, be much larger than building it all into one very neat enclosure.

Be very careful with an inside/outside construction. The air needs to freely recirculate. The pressure generated can easily destroy a building.