New bore adapter ideas and questions

Discussion on general flowbench design
Eeyore

New bore adapter ideas and questions

Post by Eeyore »

I will soon be venturing into making my own bore adapter and have been throwing around some ideas and I am looking for others thoughts.

First some background. I was talking with a friend about machining different bores, something I have little experience at, but I do have access to a lathe. He said why don't I 3D print them, something I have more experience at and also access too. If I do I can make any bore I want and I can make flanges for attachment or sealing. So questions are:

1) Do I even need a bottom plate to my bore adapter, can I just make a flange on the bottom of the bore that matches the standard 5 X 5 PTS bold pattern that I have at the top of my bench? Assuming I still have aluminum supports for the top plate and I already have a square seal in the top plate of my bench.
2) How best do I design the bore to attach and seal to the top plate so that the printed bores are exchangeable for different bores? Use the same 5 X 5 pattern as the bottom?
3) Should I design this thing so that the head seals to the printed bore or to the top plate? This may effect the last question.
4) Speaking of sealing in general, how do people seal the head to the bore adapter? O-ring, head gasket, sealant of some kind, other?
5) I was planning on simply clamping the heads to the bore adapter, what do other people do. I expect location to be by removable dowels held by small screws (#6,8,10) to allow for multiple patterns.

Thanks for the help!
Dave
Tony

Re: New bore adapter ideas and questions

Post by Tony »

I suppose it depends on the size and weight of the head, how its best supported.

A single cylinder motorcycle head is one thing.
Supporting a very long heavy cast iron monster head beneath each combustion chamber, presents a whole lot of other mechanical problems apart from just sealing.