roots blower as an air mover??

Discussion on general flowbench design
Beetle

roots blower as an air mover??

Post by Beetle »

I have an Eaton M90 blower off a 3.8 litre Buick. is it worth while to use as the air mover for a flow bench? only problem i can see is the size electric motor needed . it displaces 90 cubic inches per revolution. i like the idea because it can suck or blow air.
Beetle

Re: roots blower as an air mover??

Post by Beetle »

I want to build a bench to test air cooled Volkswagen heads. any one worked with them before?
Sir Yun

Post by Sir Yun »

Hi :)
search! I know there is at least one bench here with pics that was based on a supercharger. very neatly done.

As far as beetle heads go.. I have no experience at all with those
Tony

Post by Tony »

90 inches per rev.
19 revolutions per cubic foot
1,900 rpm for 100 CFM, that would probably (?) need roughly about 1 Hp to drive it.
The blower can obviously be driven much faster than that, but driving it may be the problem.

If you only have single phase power available, single phase VFDs usually top out at around 3Hp, anything larger requiring a three phase mains supply.

Certainly possible for a small bench, but breaking the 300 CFM barrier might be a challenge, unless you have three phase mains power available.
It may also end up being a fairly expensive exercise for the limited airflow possible, unless you can score a free VFD.
Also known as the infamous "Warpspeed" on some other Forums.
Beetle

Post by Beetle »

THANKS FOR THE INPUT GUYS!! i have a 230 V single phase , 5 hp motor off an air compressor. turns 3450 RPM i think, have to look at it. So maybe this will work. I will do more searching here on the subject.
Tony

Post by Tony »

Two fundamental difficulties with using a very large single phase motor.