Valve and seat grinding equipment

A place to talk about things that do not fit into any other forum, only members may post to keep out the SPAM
quartermaster

Valve and seat grinding equipment

Post by quartermaster »

Hi Guys I didn't really know where to post this question so here it is. After you have a flow bench the next logical piece of equipment is a valve and seat grinder/cutter. I see lots of used stuff for sale but what is good or better than the others? Keep in mind this would be for personal hobby work and not for a modern machine shop. Any advice would be helpfull. Thanks Quartermaster
jfholm

Re: Valve and seat grinding equipment

Post by jfholm »

I am an old auto machinist. My preference was for Souix equipment. Qwikway was also good. I also used Nuway cutters. Cutters are very successful if machine driven. If trying to use cutters by hand there can be some dips in the seat as your pressures on the tool are hard to keep consistent.

I would look for a good used set of stone holders and driver. Check the top part of the pilots for taper and wear. This is the part that keeps thee stone holders true. If there is too much wear or taper then you just cannot do a good seat. Also make sure the bearings are not loose and worn out. Some stone holders are rebuildable, others are not.

Make sure you can still buy parts for what you pick up. It does no good to have a seat grinder if you can't buy stones. Make sure you also get a good stone sharpener with a good diamond, or at least one you can buy a diamond for.

If you have any other questions just ask. You do not want to get stuck with junk.

John
jfholm

Post by jfholm »

I found this link for a local guy here in Salt Lake City. This is a new unit. Pictures are horrible and he does not give a great description of what you get. This is a starting point to help you see what kind of a deal you are getting when you do buy.

http://www.ksl.com/index.php?nid=218&ad ... =2&search=
jfholm

Post by jfholm »